Vegan Ranch Dressing

Image

Okay, readers, this one is a new personal favorite. Upon tasting the end result, I literally got emotional. Before the birth of my son and his subsequent diagnosis with food allergies, I was a big ranch dressing eater. I mean BIG. I put it on chips, in potatoes, on veggies, and on salads. For the past 18 months, I haven’t touched the stuff. Until today! I came up with a vegan, allergy friendly version of ranch dressing that tastes exactly the way it is supposed to taste. Today, my heart is happy!

You Will Need:

  • 1/2 cup dairy free soy free yogurt, plain. 
  • 1 1/2 cup vegan mayonnaise, such as Vegannaise or homemade
  • juice of half a lemon (about 2tbsp)
  • 1 tsp dried parsley flakes
  • 1 tsp dill
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper

Procedure:

1. Mix lemon juice and dairy free yogurt until smooth. Slowly mix into mayonnaise.

2. Mix together the rest of the ingredients and add to mayonnaise.

3. Store in a glass jar or plastic container and refrigerate.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

6 thoughts on “Vegan Ranch Dressing

  1. Bridget January 1, 2013 at 2:35 am Reply

    I’m so excited to find this and make it for my dad (who really needs to cut down on the cholesterol, but only puts ranch on his salads). Thanks for sharing. One question: How long does this keep in the fridge?

    • Mrs. Mom January 1, 2013 at 3:30 am Reply

      Well… I’m not really sure! I would say it should hang around as long as the vegan yogurt that is used as its base… so if you go based on that I’d say try to use it within a week or 10 days.

      You can always cut the recipe in half if needed, but it’s so good you just might not have to! 🙂

      • Bridget January 1, 2013 at 3:48 am

        Will do. Thanks again.

      • Mrs. Mom January 1, 2013 at 4:09 am

        You’re very welcome! Please let me know how he likes it– I think it is VERY similar to commercial dressings.

  2. […] 1 tbsp homemade vegan ranch dressing […]

  3. cdanie11e January 7, 2013 at 3:32 am Reply

    totally making this! I’ve been looking around for a Ranch replacement for awhile now!!

Leave a Reply

